4 March 1915

Extract from the diary of Lt Charles Brockbank, 1st Bn, 22nd (Cheshire) Regiment

charles brockbank

Thursday. When I arrived at BAILLEUL I discovered, quite by chance that the Bn. had been moved to ST. OMER so was in a fix as there was no chance of going by train. In the end, I held up a Lurry [sic] and got as far as FLEET, then another that took me as far as ARQUES, after which I got another that took me right into ST OMER by 10.30. It was a cold ride but I enjoyed it in spite of bad roads & rain. I now find I have come back a day too soon owing to the M.O. making a mistake, but it cannot be helped now. It seems as if we have hardly been away from here, though really it is four months.

Leave a Reply

