1 October 1915

Extract from the war diary of John Moore, 22nd (Cheshire) Regiment

Here I was put on Sap duty a sap is a short trench dug between the British & German lines I was relieved by another sentry after 2 hrs. 5 minutes after being relieved the sentry that took my place was shot through the head we found him in a pool of blood with his brains out. As he came to relieve me I was joking with him, he was carrying some bread & cheese with him & I said to him about Irishmen in South African war, that he had the point of death with him & the staff of life, he laughed & then asked if there was a chance of a smoke, I said yes, if he kept his head down, I wish he had done now.

 

Leave a Reply

