18 April 1916

Extract from the war diary of Joseph Norton, 22nd (Cheshire) Regiment

[returning from leave]

We set sail from Folkestone en route for Bolougne at 11 a.m. As soon as we got there we boarded a train en route for the North, Merville, arriving there at 8 o’clock the same night, where I and several others were put in a loft for the night and the next morning I left them and went to find my Regiment. I found them at Robecq, just about to start on the march to Rely, and it was raining and I was dead tired as I hadn’t had any proper rest for over a week. Soon as my Captain saw me he gave me his own lunch and told me to get something to eat and then follow the Regiment up afterwards and this I did arriving at Rely at noon. It was about 12 miles of a march. We stayed at Rely until the 7th of May practising field training etc.

Leave a Reply

