16 May 1916

Extract from the diary of Harrison Johnston, the 15th (Service) Battalion, Cheshire Regiment, 105th Infantry Brigade, 35th Division

We have got a rug out in the orchard near billets, and Robert, Billy and I are lying in the sun under a cherry tree which has lots of fruit on it.  It is a delightful day.

I met some of the Officers of the Battery I was attached to this morning.  They are in the next billets to W Company.  They pressed me to go in and see them and I shall do so.  Their Colonel was with them, so I said I would go later.

Aeroplanes and artillery have been very active this morning. Quite early a Fokker came over, and had a good look round.  Three of our fellows appeared all round him and they had a scrap, but the little devil got away all right.  Ever since his visit we have been getting shells over.  Six let just short of our cross roads, and everyone was a dud.  Not one exploded.

Leave a Reply

